Music – An Escape Route

Guess the commonality between a party and a heartbreaking moment, a 6:00 am cardio session or a midnight sleep crisis. Just plug your headphones in your ears and you are lost in transit. You enter a world you have imagined to be your ‘Escape Route’. Your mind dwells on this idea and takes you exactly where you want to be.

There are scientific studies that show the brain activity heightened when a coma patient is given a Music/Sound treatment. Moreover a sound can actually be responsible enough to make anyone nostalgic. For example, long time before on a Radio Show on a rainy day, I heard some beautiful words … ‘roll the dice and swear your love for me.’ The words were stuck in my head for a very long time but eventually I had given on them as I didn’t recall the tune. Years later, a good friend introduced me to them randomly playing his iPod list. I was amazed, I took me nanoseconds to react and ask the songwriter to download it for myself. The song was ‘Dice – Finley Quaye’

You can listen to this track on Youtube (Dice – http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZOiDfY3i8Ac) A very romactic song I warn you.

Music is exactly what everyone needs to escape reality. A strong tune like ‘Celebrate the day – Herbert Gronemeyer’ or ‘Hall of fame – The Script’ before hitting the gym, A soulful tune ‘Sandi Thom- I wish I were a punk rocker’  or ‘James blunt – Wisemen’ after gym to cool down. Getting up in the morning to the twisted mixes ‘Gorillaz – Feel good inc.’ or ‘The Alphabet – David Guetta’ kicks stronger than a cup of coffee or a hot breakfast.

The deal with music is, It knows no bounds. Music doesn’t care you are rich or poor. It doesn’t care you own a Ginomous i-Pod or a simple FM. You don’t have to be pretty or beautiful. Music is inviting and warm. You  have to indulge in it 100% and it guarantees a way out, trust me on that.

Our society draws line on social interaction based ‘Music’ just like Religion. I am shocked to see some college chaps with long  jersey’s and the weird hairdos,  the Hip Hop shoes and neck pendants called ‘Bling’. These were self proclaimed ‘Cool Ones’ discussing the dope rap mix by Eminem on top of their voice and the SWAG it carried. Entry to this group is the acceptance to the attire and also you need to be sane after you listen to all kind of Rap music. Pretending to be Cool on the basis of Music should not be bifurcating at all. Music was always about sharing the funkiest tracks and dancing like 5 year olds to Govinda’s Jhatkas and Matkas.

Lana Del Rey – Blues

Music brings the best in us. I know a lot of my peeps googling out different tracks and sharing the fun together. The saying, “DJ, surprise us with your mix” should be prevalent forever. Share the Care with Music. My best of mates have remained together not because what we listen together and out everyone else but what we share differently with each other and enjoy it.

Here is what I am currently digging, thanks to all my friends:

10) Katy Perry and Kanye West – ET

9) One Republic Feat. Timbaland- Apologize

8) Adele – Someone like you

7) Rihanna Feat Mikky Ekko – Stay

6) Madonna feat JT – 4 Minutes

5) Fake it – Seether

4) JBM – Winter Ghost

3) Led Zeppelin –  stairway to heaven

2) Carnival of Rust – Poets of the Fall

1) Linkin Park – Bleed it out

Well this list is not all conclusive unless the tracks from Rasmus, P.Diddy, Kelly Clarkson,  Britney Spears, Nina Simone, Maroon 5, Missy Elliot, James Blunt and many more Brilliant performers find a spot on it. But I think every performer has a season association in mind. As I said earlier, A nostalgic impact listening to the tunes can make you break a sweat in your thoughts amidst chilly winters.

So Go on, put on some music and let the MAGIC happen to you.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

About ruwhan

Business strategist, data science, blogging, marketing and communication expert. Intrigued by social, green & sustainable initiatives. Interest in fitness, music, sports, digital developments and luxury lifestyle segment.

Leave a comment