Does the word, ‘Food’ tickle your senses?

Hello everyone, I am back and this time I would love to share with everyone some nutty dishes. It is impossible to work on a blog topic post heavy lunch and that’s how I reached my new topic – Food. However even with droopy eyes I have gathered all the leftover energy and shared some my favorite dishes that I know is every Punjabi’s dream. Trust me when I say, the very homely food would find a place in the top ranked dishes on my lists of favorite foods but then I confess to have found solace in some very wisely done recipes that might just do the magic.

Being a typical food lover (I am a Punjabi and can’t blame my genes) since childhood, I have had a mouthful of punjabi dishes and also a good feasting on various other kind of foods available in the vicinity. The food options were truncated as I am a pure vegetarian and only a few options remain to pick from. The best that I can conspicuously recollect are the spicy Hyderabadi Biryani, the immaculate Sambhar and Idlee and the soulful Gujarati farsan is to die for. Hopefully the list of food I would share today would not fail to impress a few. So let me stop chit chatting and quickly get down to business:

5) Rajma Chaawal: The Number 5th on my list is the graciously done Rajma Chaawal. Every Punjabi’s Sunday or any other major occasion is incomplete without the preparation of Rajma Chaawal. A simple recipe of Kidney bean soup in Tomato curry and rice can give a headache to many who cook without a prior training. Recently, I have learnt about my moving away to an alien land for work and this is one of the dishes that would make me eager to wait for holidays.

4) Gajjar ka Halwa: The list would be sympathetically empty, if there is no focus on dessert. A Gajjar ka Halwa is one specialty that normally people binge on during winters. The sweet carrots when marry the cream/ Mawa to make the perfect blend of Halwa, it is simply magic. The servings include garnishes with silver paper and loads of dry fruits but I prefer mine with some cashews and honey. Well, If you haven’t still tried it…… what are you waiting for?

3) Sindhi Curry with Aloo Took:   I first happen to have Sindhi Curry and Aloo Took at my Sindhi uncle’s wedding and right after then I am head over heels for it. The Sindhi Curry is a Tomato preparation with fried vegetables. The Aloo took are the double fried Potato chips served as complimentary item. On and all it is like your dream girlfriend – Saucy, sweet and sour and crisp to add that little zing.

2) Chat Pakora: The road side junk food has eventually managed to climb my best food list with a very little efforts. The Onion, Potatoes and Dal bhajjiyas (Pakora in punjabi) are best with cutting chai (Half cup tea) during monsoons. I know a lot of us have a very hygiene conscious for the street side preparations but this calorie filled dish is served best with pickled green chilies and garlic powder and once you have it, your enslaved to the warm and aromatic flavors.

1) Panner makhanwala : Also known as stir fried cottage cheese with sweet and spicy seasonings in butter and best served with Naan or Butter Roti (Indian Bread). The classic Panner, wins hand down to all other items in the list. The Makhan Panner which is the best main course is prepared in butter (Hence makhan) and cashew cream is added to enhance the rich texture. A dish that can give you a tiring day in gym after it is consumed is the crown jewel for all food items.

Well guys, this is it. These dishes make me thank Lord, All Mighty every time I dine and lick every drop off my plate till the last morsel. It would be superb if you can share the best dishes you have had in past or savor in your bucket list. Thank you for your time and Salute to a Healthy life ahead.

(Image Courtesy : finelychoppedk.wordpress.com, whatscookingmom.in, kitchenadda.blogspot.com, chefandherkitchen.com)

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

About ruwhan

Business strategist, data science, blogging, marketing and communication expert. Intrigued by social, green & sustainable initiatives. Interest in fitness, music, sports, digital developments and luxury lifestyle segment.

One response to “Does the word, ‘Food’ tickle your senses?”

  1. Online-Jackpot-Games.Co.Uk says :

    Tom Morris: “The only way most people recognize their limits is by trespassing on them.”

Leave a comment